Making Democracy Work

About LWV Chicago

Board of Directors


Annie Logue, President
Jill Althage, Vice President
Esta Kallen, Vice President
Alice Perlin, Secretary
Pat Vogtman, Treasurer


Nancy Brandt
Bernice Fortini
Helene Gabelnick
Patricia Graunke
Margaret Herring
Cathy Potkay
Karen Sandrick
Rae Sokolow


Units of the League of Women Voters of Chicago provide opportunities for members to meet in small groups to discuss issues and learn more about studies being conducted by the league. Please contact unit leaders before attending a meeting, as times and locations vary.

Loop-evening Unit: Meets third Tuesday each month at 5:30pm
Margaret Herring, Leader

West Side-daytime Unit: Meets one Sunday a month
Joan Morton, Leader

Loop-afternoon Unit: Meets midweek afternoon each month
Carol Ziegeldorf, Leader

Loop-morning Unit: Meets third Thursday each month at 10am
Bernice Fortini, Leader

Far Southwest Side-evening Unit:
Betsy Perrine and Marcia Cowing, Co-leaders

Hyde Park-daytime Unit: Meets fourth Thursday each month at 1:30pm
Susan Hamburger, Dorothy Scheff, Leaders


Development Committee - Bernice Fortini and Patricia Graunke, Co-Chairs

Education Committee - Rae Sokolow, Chair

Environmental Issues/Natural Resources Committee - Margaret Herring and Patricia Graunke, Co-Chairs

Health Committee - Margaret O'Hara, Chair

Membership Committee - Patricia Graunke, Chair

Social Policy/Housing Committee - Herb Ziegeldorf, Chair

Voter Services Committee - Helene Gabelnick, Chair

Interleague Affiliations

The League of Women Voters of Chicago is a member of several Interleague organizations:

2015-2016 Accomplishments and Reports

A review of the 2015-2016 year was presented at the LWV Chicago Annual Meeting in June 2016. It includes information about some of the accomplishments during the year and reports from the various committees. A copy is available here.

2015-2016 Accomplishments and Reports


Download a pdf copy of Chicago League of Women Voters Bylaws.