Making Democracy Work

Upcoming Events

Be part of what we do!

Date & Time        Place        Description
Wednesday, August 16, 2017
3pm
Board of Elections Office Deputy Voter Registrar Training Class. RSVP required at least 5 days prior. League@lwvchicago.org with name, address, phone number and class choice.
Thursday, August 17, 2017
10am
LWVChicago office League in Your Neighborhood-Loop Morning. Join us for a morning of socializing and strategizing as we kick off our Year of Engagement. RSVP
Saturday, August 19, 2017
9:30am-5pm
Doubletree Hilton Bloomington, 10 Brickyard Dr., Bloomington Membership and Leadership Development Program Training. RSVP: marys@lwvil.org
Tuesday, August 22, 2017
10:30am
Thompson Center Public Meeting of the Illinois State Board of Elections. There will be a discussion of the State Board's response to the request from the Election Integrity Commission. Agenda available at http://www.elections.il.gov/AboutTheBoard/Agenda.aspx
Wednesday, August 23, 2017
5:30pm
LWVChicago office League in Your Neighborhood-Loop Evening. Join us for an evening of socializing and strategizing as we kick off our Year of Engagement. RSVP
Wednesday, August 23, 2017
6:30pm
Gideon Welles Craft Bar & Kitchen, 4500 N Lincoln Ave. League in Your Neighborhood-North Side. Join us for an evening of socializing and strategizing as we kick off our Year of Engagement. RSVP
Thursday, August 24, 2017
1:30pm
Montgomery Place, 5550 S Shore Drive League in Your Neighborhood-Hyde Park. Join us for an afternoon of socializing and strategizing as we kick off our Year of Engagement. RSVP
Saturday, August 26, 2017
9:30am
Board of Elections Office Deputy Voter Registrar Training Class. RSVP required at least 5 days prior. League@lwvchicago.org with name, address, phone number and class choice.
Wednesday, August 30, 2017
7pm
Beverly Castle Unitarian Church, 10244 S Longwood Dr. League in Your Neighborhood-Far Southwest Side. Join us for an evening of socializing and strategizing as we kick off our Year of Engagement. RSVP
Tuesday, September 5, 2017
6pm
LWVChicago Office Membership Committee Meeting.
Thursday, September 7, 2017
6pm
LWVChicago office Environment Committee Meeting. Newly-formed committee ready to advocate for policies that protect our environment and public health.
Thursday, September 7, 2017
6pm
Board of Elections Office, 69 W Washington Deputy Voter Registrar Training Class. RSVP required at least 5 days prior. League@lwvchicago.org with name, address, phone number and class choice.
Saturday, September 9, 2017
10am-noon
332 S Michigan, Room 430 Briefing: League 101. Learn about the organization and procedures of the League, how it functions and how you can become involved.
Wednesday, September 13, 2017
3pm
Board of Elections Office, 69 W Washington Deputy Voter Registrar Training Class. RSVP required at least 5 days prior. League@lwvchicago.org with name, address, phone number and class choice.
Monday, September 25, 2017
5:30pm
Union League Club, 65 W Jackson Blvd Chicago in Focus. NO BAIL ISSUES: UNJUST INCARCERATION-- Sheriff Tom Dart provides A Look Inside a Broken System.
Tuesday, September 26, 2017
 
  National Voter Registration Day.
Saturday, September 30, 2017
9:30am
Board of Elections Office, 69 W Washington Deputy Voter Registrar Training Class. RSVP required at least 5 days prior. League@lwvchicago.org with name, address, phone number and class choice.
Saturday, October 14, 2017
10am-noon
332 S Michigan, Room 430 Briefing: Tax-Increment Financing:A Controversy of Funding. Ben Joravsky explains what's good and bad about tax-incremental financing (TiFs) and how it can be reformed.
Wednesday, October 18, 2017
5:30pm
Union League Club, 65 W Jackson Blvd Chicago in Focus. SANCTUARY CITIES-- ACLU's Rebecca Glenberg, lead attorney on immigration issues, discusses the status and threats to Chicago as a Sanctuary City.
Saturday, November 11, 2017
10am-noon
332 S Michigan, Room 430 Briefing: Social Policy/Housing. Topic and speaker to be determined
Thursday, November 30, 2017
5:30pm
Union League Club, 65 W Jackson Blvd Chicago in Focus. COOK COUNTY HOSPITAL AND HEALTH SYSTEM-- Guest Speaker: Hil Hammock.
Saturday, January 13, 2018
10am-noon
332 S Michigan, Room 430 Briefing: Health Care.
Thursday, January 25, 2018
5:30pm
Union League Club, 65 W Jackson Blvd Chicgo in Focus. SECURE THE VOTE-- Marisel Hernandez and James Allen, Chicago Board of Election Commissioners
Saturday, February 10, 2018
10am-noon
332 S Michigan, Room 430 Briefing: Engaging Voters in the 2018 Primaries. Voter Service activities and actions.
Saturday, February 10, 2018
10am-noon
332 S Michigan, Room 430 Briefing: Engaging Voters in the 2018 Primaries. Voter Service activities and actions.
Monday, February 26, 2018
5:30pm
Union League Club, 65 W Jackson Blvd Chicago in Focus. ART AND DEMOCRACY-- Theaster Gates discusses Rebuild Foundation and the revitalization of poor neighborhoods through urban planning and art.
Tuesday, March 20, 2018
 
  Primary Election.
Saturday, April 14, 2018
10am-noon
332 S Michigan, Room 430 Briefing: Fostering Student Success. Support services in schools
Thursday, April 19, 2018
5:30pm
Union League Club, 65 W Jackson Blvd Chicago in Focus. CHICAGO'S AMAZING UNDERGROUND PASSAGEWAY-- The Pedway: How Can We Improve It?
Saturday, May 12, 2018
10am-noon
332 S Michigan, Room 430 Briefing: Environment.